The Sundowners with The Tornados


The Sundowners were: Tony Seow, Lawrene Seow, Geoge Lim

The Sundowners recorded “Wonderful Malaysia” in celebration of the national spirit of the newly formed Malaysia (Singapore withdrew from the federation in 1965). They were accompanied by The Tornadoes featuring the stirring guitar licks of Derek McCully. Earlier, The Sundowners had recorded another SP of popular folk songs “Bangawan Solo” and “Cotton Fields”, accompanied by the All Star Quintet.


The Tornadoes were: Derek McCully, Freddie Koh, Stanley Lee, Lennie Lee

MALAYSIA WONDERFUL
I found me a paradise
I’ll stay there the rest of my life
It’s called Malaysia, Wonderful Malaysia
Skies have never been so blue

Beautiful countryside
Ocean all around so wide
I’ll stay there
Yes, I’m gonna stay there the rest of my life
Yes, I’m gonna stay right there

Malaysia, Wonderful Malaysia
People you love right away
Not enough hours in the day
The nights seem to slip away
In Malaysia
Yes, I’m gonna stay there the rest of my life
Oh yes, I’m gonna stay right there

Leave a Reply

