The Peanuts ピーナッツ

The Peanuts

Rock ‘n’ roll music was sweeping the world and Japan was not spared. The Peanuts was a duo comprised of two identical twin sisters, Emi and Yumi Ito. In those early days of J-pop, they sang many Japanese covers of popular hit songs from the West. They also recorded successful original compositions like “Jyonetsu no Hana (Passion Flower)”, “Koi no Bakansu (Vacation of Love)”. “Koi no Fuga (Love Fugue)” and “Sayonara wa Totsuzen Ni (Goodbye is Sudden)”. The sisters were also widely known as the Mothra Twins for featuring in the three Mothra movies where they appeared as shobijin (pixies). They retired from performance in 1975.

Peanuts-2

悲しき16才 (HEARTACHES AT SWEET SIXTEEN)
ひとりぼっちお部屋で
夢見るわあの人
なぜか悲しいこの頃
私は16

今日もそっとオシャレ
呼んでみても知らんフリ
それが悲しいこの頃
そんな私なの

どうすればいいんでしょう?
本当に 悲しいわ

こんな気持ち誰にも
判るはずがないのよ
パパやママも私を
ただ笑うだけ

こんな気持ち誰にも
判るはずがないのよ
パパやママも私を
ただ笑うだけ

ただ笑うだけ

HEARTACHES AT SWEET SIXTEEN (by Kathy Linden)
I’m sitting all alone and feeling blue
I’m wondering if he found somebody new
Whoever thought that I’d be going through
Heartaches at sweet sixteen
He wouldn’t speak to me at school today
He made real sure to look the other way
What did I do to him, what did I say
Oh these heartaches at sweet sixteen
Can I make him care at all
I’ll die if he doesn’t call
No matter how my parents tease and laugh
I’ll wear his ring and kiss his photograph
They just don’t understand or know the half of
Heartaches at sweet sixteen

Leave a Reply

