Joe Junior

Joe Jr - 1

Joe Junior was the gentle “boy next door” teenage idol. He was of Macanese (Chinese and Portugese) ancestry. His family moved from Macau to Hong Kong where Joe was born and grew up. Joe attended St. Joseph’s College where he met Alex Tao. They founded The Zoundcrackers and recorded “I Gotta Find Cupid” in 1966 which went to the RTHK pop chart. After some major changes in band members, Joe and Alex Tao regrouped as Joe Jr. & The Side-Effects. They recorded “Here’s a Heart” in 1967 which became their most successful single. They were the premier band in HK, recruited to open for visiting bands like Herman’s Hermits, Manfred Mann and The Kinks. The band released two successful LPs (“Effective” and “Tribute”) before disbanding in 1969. Joe Junior continued to sing and record as a solo act.

The Zoundcrackers
The Zoundcrackers (L-R):  Alex Tao (lead guitar), Oli Kitchell (bass guitar),  Jimmy Gibson (drums), Joe Jr. (lead vocal), Norman Leung (keyboard)

The Side Effects
Joe Jr. & The Side-Effects (L-R):  Robert Lee (drums), David Tong (bass guitar), Joe Jr. (lead vocal),  James Fong (keyboard) and Alex Tao (lead guitar)

(EXCLUSIVELY YOURS)

No more playing the field for me
Since I met you my heart’s not free
I just wanna be exclusively yours
Once you kiss me that I found out
There’s no other I care about
I just wanna be exclusively yours
I’ll take you to the dance
I’ll take you to the show
I’ll take you every single place you ever wanna go
I don’t know where it is, I don’t know what we do
As long as I can just be there with you
If it’s my love you’re longing for
You can have it forever more
I just wanna be exclusively yours

One Response to Joe Junior

  1. Oli Kitchell (bass guitar) for The ZoundCrackers is still doing well and living in the US. He’s been my best friend for the past 25+ years. He is still a great musician and we still play music on a weekly basis. A very humble person with a great family. Having him in my life has been a great honor for me, he’s more then my best friend, he’s my brother

Leave a Reply

