Danny Diaz & The Checkmates

Danny Diaz & The Checkmates

Danny Diaz & The Checkmates were three Filipino brothers with their brother-in-law (Romeo or Romy is married to Christine Samson, the one-time singer and bassist with D’Topnotes). They formed in Hong Kong and had a major hit “It’s So Easy” in 1966. The group’s big break came when they beat out the other top acts like Teddy Robin & The Playboys and The Mystics in the Levi’s Battle Of The Bands held in the Hong Kong Football Stadium in 1969. They went to the UK and made a few recordings out there including “Solomon Grundy”, 1969 UK). They disbanded in 1982.

Danny Diaz & The Checkmates-1
Danny Diaz (vocal)
Rudy Diaz (bass)
Romeo Diaz (keyboards, guitar, flute, etc.)
Michael Samson (drums)

(IT’S SO EASY)
It’s so easy to give my heart to you
It’s so easy and that’s what I have to do
If I’ll give my love to you
Would you promise to be true?

All of my life, all of my life
You know I’ll never make you blue
Well, someday you may find
That all who love are blind
Each night I’ll pray, I’ll find a way
And then I’ll give my heart to you

It’s so easy to give my love to you
It’s so easy and that’s what I have to do
Well the night grows very near
Thoughts of you grow oh so few
Only it seems I’ll see you in dreams
And then I’ll give my heart to you
Give my heart to you
It’s so easy
It’s so easy

Leave a Reply

