D’ Swooners (with Chris Solano)

D'Swooners

They were a Filipino band formed in 1963. They went to Hong Kong and played in nightclubs. In 1965, they recorded “My Sonata of Love” (composed by Vic Cristobal) on the Diamond label which became a big hit. They opened for The Kinks and Manfred Mann in Hong Kong. A Japanese talent scout saw them and took them to Japan. They released two singles and two albums in Japan including the very successful psychedelic GS “Please Please Trina” on Philips in 1968.

Cris Solano (vocals, bass)
Charlie Cajilig (guitar)
Ernie Espiritu (organ)
Ronnie Parina (vocals, trumpet, saxophone)
Eddie Fortuno (drums)

(MY SONATA OF LOVE)
When love was new it was grand
We sat and gazed at the band
They were playing we were singing
Our sonata of love
Why did we quarrel and part
What have you done to my heart
Now I’m prayin’ and keep singing
My sonata of love
Love is just a gamble to lose
Would be too cruel
We can’t go on like this
Without you how could I exist
Nothing to say now you’re gone
Nothing is left but our song
Yet I’m praying and keeping
Singing my sonata of love
Nothing to say now you’re gone
Oh nothing is left but our song
Yet I’m praying and keep singing
My sonata of love

Leave a Reply

