Kamahl

Kandiah Kamalesvaran (Tamil: கந்தையா கமலேஸ்வரன்) or Kamahl was from the graduating class of 1952 at “V.I.” (Victoria Institution) in Kuala Lumpur. He did his matriculation in Australia and stayed. He recorded with Philips and “Dreams of love” became a gold hit in 1969. In 1974, he joined the New Zealand Studio One television competition and won with “End of a rainbow” (by Earl Grant). A big break came the following year when Frank Sinatra turned down World Wildlife Fund (WWF) and Kamahl was invited to sing “The Elephant Song” for the musical finale of a TV Special. The song introduced Kamahl to Europe where it topped the charts in several countries and was number 1 in Holland. His sensational international recording and concert career spanned over four decades including performances for Queen Elizabeth II at the Royal Command Performance (1982), the London Palladium, Carnegie Hall and Talk of the Town. In 1994, he was bestowed the title AM, a Member of the Order of Australia.


New Zealand Studio One TV, 1974

Australian releases in Singapore-Malaysia (1970 – 1978):
Kamahl
Kamahl in Holland
Friends
I think of you
Kamahl at the Opera House
Let it be me
If I give my heart to you
Love is a beautiful song
Portrait of my love
This love we share (Australian release 1984)

Christmas with Kamahl (Australian release 1984)

(END OF A RAINBOW)
At the end of a rainbow, you’ll find a pot of gold
At the end of a story, you’ll find it’s all been told
But our love has a treasure our hearts can always spend
And it has a story without any end
At the end of a river, the water stops its flow
At the end of a highway, there’s no place you can go
But just tell me that you love me and you are only mine
And our love will go on ’til the end of time
At the end of a river, the water stops its flow
At the end of a highway, there’s no place you can go
But just tell me that you love me and you are only mine
And our love will go on ’til the end of time
So darling tell me that you love me and you are only mine
And our love will go on ’til the end of time

Comments are closed.

