Jose Mari Chan

Jose Mari Chan, composer, singer and businessman. He wrote and recorded Afterglow in 1967 which became a big hit, a significant achievement at a time when foreign music dominated the industry in the Philippines. Dyna took notice and asked JM to do an album with original songs. From it, Deep in my heart became a national hit. Even as music was relegated to the sideline (“You can’t raise a family on that. Music is not a stable livelihood”) while he helped to run the thriving family sugar business, JM still managed to earn a string of nominations from FAMAS for his original themes and scores for about 26 movies between 1970 to 1974. For about 10 years after that, with Marcus nationalizing the sugar industry, JM lived in the US and traveled widely in Central and South America with a trader’s visa. Never too far away from music, JM continued to write songs. When the EDSA Revolt succeeded, JM was soon back in the Philippines. In 1989, the album “Constant Change” was released and reached diamond record in sales. The hit single Beautiful girl became a timeless song in all of SE-Asia and beyond.

JM Chan’s illustrious musical career spans four fruitful decades. In 2005, he composed We’re all just one, the theme song of the 2006 Southeast Asian Games. He is first in many categories: First Filipino and the only recording artist who achieved a Double Diamond Record Award, for the biggest selling Christmas album, “Christmas in our hearts”, and; First Filipino and the only singer/composer/producer that has been bestowed lifetime achievement awards by The Philippine Association of the Record Industry’s Awit Awards, the composer’s group Katha Awards and Aliw Award.

(BEAUTIFUL GIRL)
Beautiful girl, wherever you are
I knew when I saw you, you had opened the door
I knew that I’d love again after a long, long while
I’d love again
You said “hello” and I turned to go
But something in your eyes left my heart beating so
I just knew that I’d love again after a long, long while
I’d love again
*It was destiny’s game
For when love finally came on
I rushed in line only to find
That you were gone
Whenever you are, I fear that I might
Have lost you forever like a song in the night
Now that I’ve loved again after a long, long while
I’ve loved again
*It was destiny’s game
For when love finally came on
I rushed in line only to find
That you were gone
Beautiful girl, I’ll search on for you
‘Til all of your loveliness in my arms come true
You’ve made me love again after a long, long while
In love again
And I’m glad that it’s you
Hmm, beautiful girl

Leave a Reply

