Teddy Robin & The Playboys

teddy-robin-the-playboys.jpg

Teddy Robin (泰迪羅賓) & The Playboys were the top English band in Hong Kong in the 60’s. Their first composition I dreamed of you last night (1967) was a huge hit. Other popular songs include I can’t grow peaches on a cherry tree and the psychedelic Magic colours. They also recorded some wonderful instrumentals including Norman’s Fancy (composed by lead guitarist, Norman Cheng) and Sands of time. They released four albums, one compilation double-album and a big number of 45s from 1965 to 1969. Teddy Robin Kwan went on to have a very successful career as a movie actor and producer.

teddy-robin-carrousel.jpg

Underground Masters, 2005: The ‘In Sounds of Hong Kong!
The in-place; Crying in the rain; Don’t throw your love away; Norman’s fancy; Don’t go out in the rain; Language of love; Zee-pa-de-do-da; Fever; Don’t try to love somebody like me; In September; Sands of time; I dreamed of you last night; Don’t make my baby blue; She’d rather be with me; What’d I say; We can’t go on this way; Come on down to my boat; Move it; Carrousel; You’d better cry; Magic colors; Take my life.

Leave a Reply

