Kong Ling 江玲

kong-ling-8.jpgkong-ling-5.jpg

Kong Ling is known as “Singing sweetheart of Hong Kong”. She won an inter-school competition in 1951. By 1954, she was singing in Singapore, an engagment which lasted for nine months. When she returned to H.K., her popularity only continued to grow. She was in such high demand that she was singing in three separate nightclubs every evening. In the beginning, Kong Ling was singing mostly Mandarin covers of popular English songs. She recorded her first LP in English in 1960 on Diamond label called “Hong Kong presents the Off-beat Cha Cha” (Off-beat was first popularized in Manila). In her second LP, “Theme from a Dream”, Diamond wanted the best so they got The Fabulous Echoes to back Kong Ling.

Kong Ling – Hong Kong presents the Off-beat Cha Cha: China night: One way ticket, C’est magnifique, Ciao ciao bambino, My heart is an open book, I love you baby, The voice of love, Seven lonely days,Tenderly, Let’s go off beat, Mona Lisa, Sayonara.

Theme from a Dream: Theme for a dream, When I fall in love, Sway, Portrait of my love, The stars are filled with bliss, Lost in a dream, More than I can say, No other love, Wishing, Return to me, You’re my everything, Jilted.

Kong Ling + The Fabulous Echoes + Vic Cristobal = Dynamite!: I‘ve told every star, Love me warm and tender, Yum yum cha cha, Sad movies, Let’s twist again, Moon river, Al di la, Mr. Sandman, I can’t stop loving you, La Paloma twist, Why not now, You don’t know me.

(SOUTH PACIFIC TWIST)
You wanna see my hometown
Doing the twist round and round
Every little boy or little miss
Doing the South Pacific twist
Come on, come on
Do the real terrific twist
Come on, come on
It’s the South Pacific twist
I thought the dance was often new
It came my way in 62
According to my daddio
It started long long time ago
Come on, come on
Do the real terrific twist
Come on, come on
It’s the South Pacific twist
我地一齊來唱歌 (Sang in Cantonese)
我地一齊來跳舞
來跳 來跳 來跳 twist
唐人叫做扭腰舞
Come on, come on
大家來跳扭腰舞
come on, come on
扭下香港係獨步
唱歌要唱時代歌
跳舞要跳時代舞
時代第日要跳 twist
抗無抗港照到無
Come on, come on
大家來跳扭腰舞
Come on, come on
Do the real terrific twist
Come on, come on
It’s the South Pacific twist

One Response to Kong Ling 江玲

  1. Nick Cheng says:

    The best English HK singer ever!!!

Leave a Reply

