The Blue Diamonds

the-blue-diamonds-6.jpg

They were the Dutch answer to the Everly Brothers. The two brothers, Riem and Ruud de Wolff, moved from Indonesia to The Netherlands in 1949 at an early age. In 1960, they scored a hit with Ramona. It was No. 1 in The Netherlands and topped the charts in several European countries, SE-Asia including Singapore, Malaya (before the Federation of Malaysia) and Indonesia. Their rendition of Sukiyaki (Ue o muite arukoo) in English was very memorable, another one of many chart toppers for them. The Blue Diamonds did not forget their roots. They toured the region regularly, and were well received by their fans here.

Ramona, The wedding, Sukiyaki (English/German), Guantanamera, Always, Have I told you lately, Let it be me, Hello Mary Lou, Little ship, Mister Sandman, Mona Lisa, Oh Carol, Red sails in the sunset, Sunny, Rio nights, Ole sioh sajange, Siempre, Terang Buland.

(SUKIYAKI)
The charms of Sukiyaki,
The arms of Sukiyaki.
Are all I long for since I left old Nagasaki.
Why did I roam,
Far away from home?
I hope that she will wait for me.

Her smile cannot deceive me.
Sweet almond eyes don’t leave me.
My whole life through I’ll be true
Darling, please believe me.
That if I say,
I’ll be back someday.
Promise that you will wait for me.

When orange blossoms are starting to bloom,
We’ll be united as a bride and a groom.

I’ll take my Sukiyaki,
And make my Sukiyaki.
The only queen to be seen in old Nagasaki.
And from our home,
We will never roam,
When i make Sukiyaki mine.

(whistle)

Why did I roam,
Far away from home?
I know that she will wait for me.

When orange blossoms are starting to bloom,
We’ll be united as a bride and a groom.

I’ll take my Sukiyaki,
And make my Sukiyaki.
The only queen to be seen in old Nagasaki.
And from our home,
We will never roam,
When I make Sukiyaki mine.

(whistle)

And from our home,
we will never roam,
When I make Sukiyaki mine.
When I make Sukiyaki mine.
All mine.

Leave a Reply

