Heather Fitzgerald

Heather Fitzgerald - 201

Heather Batchen was a British girl staying in Singapore. She teamed up with some British servicemen to form Heather with The Diamond Four. The 1966 SP with Day-dreaming (the version featured here) and If we are only friends was well received. Heather was later backed by The Thunderbirds. They did a re-make of Day-dreaming. Heather’s interpretation of Love is blue (I’amour est bleu) was splendid. Her other more popular hits were: I’ll never be the same, We two forever shall be one, Nobody’s child, Mr. tambourine man. Heather married Harvey Fitzgerald, vocalist and rhythm guitarist of The Thunderbirds.


The Four Diamonds (Ray Johnson)

heather-the-thurderbirds-1-bw.jpg
Heather & The Thunderbirds

(LOVE IS BLUE)
Blue, blue, my world is blue
Blue is my world now I’m without you
Gray, gray, my life is gray
Cold is my heart since you went away
Red, red, my eyes are red
Crying for you alone in my bed
Green, green, my jealous heart
I doubted you and now we’re apart
When we met how the bright sun shone
Then love died, now the rainbow is gone
Black, black, the nights I’ve known
Longing for you so lost and alone
Gone, gone the love we knew
Blue is my world since I’m without you

(DAY DREAMING)
Day dreaming, dreaming of you
Day dreaming, that’s all I do
Whiling away, the minutes and hours
Dreaming of love, a love like ours
Day dreaming the whole day through
Day dreaming, lost in a cloud
Day dreaming, my mind’s whirling round
Thinking of times I’ve spent with you
Thinking of things we can do anew
Day dreaming the whole day through
* I’m miles away all through the day
Lost in a world of my own
Floating along on cloud number nine
Dreaming that you will be mine (will be mine)
Day dreaming, thoughts running wild
Day dreaming, of your sweet smile
Your eyes that shine with love for me
Our hearts together like they ought to be
Day dreaming the whole day through

2 Responses to Heather Fitzgerald

  1. So good to hear Heather singing again. I wrote Day dreaming for her in 1965 while stationed in Singapore and was lead guitarist on the original recording. I’d love to know where she is now.

  2. franas says:

    Hello Frank: “Day Dreaming” is a classic. Thanks also for the great lead guitar playing there. Heather migrated to Perth, Australia in the 70’s.

Leave a Reply

