The Fabulous Echoes

the-fabulous-echoes-2.jpgthe-fabulous-echoes-3.jpg

The Fabulous Echoes were based in Hong Kong in the early 60’s. The early lineup of The Fabulous Echoes consisted of Tony Ruivivar (leader, guitar), Terry Lucido (keyboards), Stan Robertson (bass), Bert Sagum (vocals, percussions), Cliff Foenander (lead vocals) and Danny Ruivivar (drums, xylophone). Tony, Danny, Bert and Terry were from the Philippines. Cliff and Stan were from Ceylon (Sri Lanka) and Scotland respectively. Their first hit, “A little bit of soap”, stayed No. 1 for several weeks in H.K. in 1964. They secured a contract to play in Las Vegas and were later invited to appear in The Ed Sullivan Show. In 1968, they changed their name to Society of Seven and moved to Honolulu where they stayed. They have been a very successful act for over 30 years. In 2001, a second troupe by the name of Society of Seven LV was formed. This group alternates with the original, allowing the original group to perform outside Hawaii while they continue the engagement in Hawaii.

The Fabulous Echoes: SPs & EPs:
Do the mashed potatoes / A little bit of soap
Little peanut shell / Waray waray
Quit messin’ around / Please leave her to me
I know / Loop de loop
Sunshine / Dancing on the moon
Sunshine / Carmen twist
You’ve lost that loving feeling / Hang on sloopy
Those Fabulous Echoes Vol.1 (EP): Don’t say, Dancing on the moon,﹑Another Saturday night, A little bit of soap
The Fabulous Echoes (EP): Hang on sloopy, Papa’s got a brand new bag, Wooly bully and Ponchita

Those Fabulous Echoes: Sunshine, Another Saturday night, I know, Talkin’ bout love, A little bit of soap, Skip to my Lou, Don’t say, Carmen twist, Baby elephant walk, Loop de loop, Remember me, Dancing on the moon.

Zoom!! With The Fabulous Echoes: Michael, Don’t turn away, Terry the berry, Everybody knows (with Tony Myatt), It won’t be long, If I, Bye bye baby, To be my love, Hippy hippy shake, From Russia with love, Betcha gonna like it (with Tony Myatt), Melodies, Secret love, No longer a feel.

Lovin’ Feeling: You’ve lost that loving feeling, Papa’s got a brand new bag, My love forgives me, If I can’t get no (Satisfaction), Medley: I know / Dancing on the moon / A little bit of soap, Hang on sloopy, Wooly bully, The wedding, The ‘In’ crowd, King of the road, Dizzy Miss Lizzy.

In Action: Malaguena salerosa, Alley cat, Red roses for a blue lady, Ponchita, Engine Engine #9, Hello Dolly / Billy Bailey, Take me back, Roses and rainbows, Turn me on, A taste of honey, Smile, La bamba.

The Best of Fabulous Echoes: Wooly bully, Dancing on the moon, Sunshine, Loop de loop, A little bit of soap, Take me back, Hang on sloopy, Lovin’ feeling, The wedding, Another Saturday night, I know, Hello Dolly / Bill Bailey.

society-of-seven-2.jpg
Society of Seven

(A LITTLE BIT OF SOAP)
A little bit of soap will wash away your lipstick from my face
A little bit of soap will never never never ever erase
The pain in my heart and my eyes as I go through the lonely years
A little bit of soap will never wash away my tears
A little bit of soap will wash away your powder from my chin
A little bit of soap will never never never ever begin
To take away the hurt that I feel as I go through the lonely years
A little bit of soap will never wash away my tears
Have you heard when love begins to die it leaves someone to cry
Night and day
Like a bird, you left your robin’s nest and just like all the rest
You flew away
Just a little bit of soap will wash away your perfume eventually
A little bit of soap will never wash away the memory
Of your name in the night that I call through the lonely years
A little bit of soap will never wash away my tears
I’ll never lose the memory of your name in the night
That I call through the lonely years
A little bit of soap will never wash away my tears

Leave a Reply

