Teresa Teng 鄧麗君

teresa-teng-100.jpgteresa-teng-6.jpg

Teresa Teng 鄧麗君 (pinyin: Dèng Lìjūn) was an immensely popular singer with distinction. Renowned for her velvety voice and endearing songs, she was the Queen of Chinese pop. In 1964 at age 10, she won her first major singing contest organized by China Radio Station (Taiwan) with Visiting Yingtai from Shaw Brothers’ opera movie “The Love Eterne” (梁山伯與祝英台). Many of her songs became standards such as “When Will You Return?” (何日君再來), “The Moon Represents My Heart” (月亮代表我的心), “Goodbye My Love” (再见,我的爱人), “Fragrance of the Night” (夜来香) and “Girls Of Alisan/High Mountain Green” (阿里山的姑娘/高山青). Her popularity spanned three decades. She recorded in many languages and her songs enjoyed huge popularity among Korean, Japanese, Thai, Malaysian and Indonesian listeners, as well as Chinese in Communist China despite strenuous government censorship. It was said that “Deng Xiaoping rules China by day and Deng Lijun rules China by night”. Tragically, Teresa died of an asthma attack in 1995 at the age of 42.

Teresa was the first ever Chinese female singer to perform under contract at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas. She was also the first singer to win the All-Japan Record Awards for four consecutive years (1984-1988). Her songs have sold more records than any east Asian singer in history. All her awards would be too many to be listed here.

(月亮代表我的心 THE MOON REPRESENTS MY HEART, English translation)
You ask me how deep my love for you is
How much I really love you
My affection is real
My love is real
The moon represents my heart
You ask me how deep my love for you is
How much I really love you
My affection does not waver
My love will not change
The moon represents my heart
* Just one soft kiss
is enough to move my heart
A period of time when our affection was deep
Has made me miss you until now
* You ask me how deep my love for you is
How much I really love you
Go think about it.
Go and have a look [at the moon]
The moon represents my heart

Moon represents my heart

(阿里山的姑娘 GIRLS OF ALISAN)
啊啊
高山青 澗水藍
阿里山的姑娘美如水呀
阿里山的少年壯如山
啊啊
阿里山的姑娘美如水呀
阿里山的少年壯如山

高山常青 澗水常藍
姑娘和那少年永不分呀
碧水長圍著青山轉

嘿!
那奴灣多依呀那呀嘿依呀嘿
那奴灣多依呀那呀候嗨呀
喔依那奴灣多依呀那呀候嗨呀

高山常青 澗水常藍
姑娘和那少年永不分呀
碧水長圍著青山轉

嘿!
那奴灣多依呀嘿
那奴灣多依呀嘿

啊啊
阿里山的姑娘美如水呀
阿里山的少年壯如山
高山常青 澗水常藍
姑娘和那少年永不分呀
碧水長圍著青山轉

嘿!
那奴灣多依呀那呀嘿依呀嘿
那奴灣多依呀那呀候嗨呀
喔依那奴灣多依呀那呀候嗨呀

高山常青 澗水常藍
姑娘和那少年永不分呀
碧水長圍著青山轉
啊啊啊

4 Responses to Teresa Teng 鄧麗君

  1. fche626 says:

    Such a wonderful singer :) Thanks for the translation of the lyrics :)

Leave a Reply

