The Tidbits

tidbits2.jpg

It was 1968 when Serene Wee (13), Merlina Wee (12) and Bernedette Souza (12) won the Talentime hosted by Radio and Television Singapura. They sang “I believe”. The Tidbits were the first to record for RCA in Singapore.

the-tidbdits-101

(Backed by The Trailers): I believe, Breaking up is hard to do, Lace covered window, Never my love;
(Backed by The X’periment): Scarlet ribbons, Come softly to me, California dreaming, Tragedy.

(SCARLET RIBBONS)
I peeked in to say good-night
Then I heard my child in prayer
“Send for me, some scarlet ribbons
Scarlet ribbons for my hair”
All our stores were closed and shuttered
All the streets were dark and bare
In our town, no scarlet ribbons
Scarlet ribbons for her hair
Through the night my heart was aching
Just before the dawn was breaking
* I peeked in and on her hair
In gay profusion lying there
Lovely ribbons, pretty ribbons
Scarlet ribbons for her hair
If I live to be one hundred
I will never know from where
Came those ribbons, lovely ribbons
Scarlet ribbons for her hair

(BREAKING UP IS HARD TO DO)
Don’t take your love away from me
Don’t you leave my heart in misery
If you go then I’ll be blue
‘Cause breaking up is hard to do
Remember when you held me tight
And you kissed me all through the night
Think of all that we’ve been through
Breaking up is hard to do
* They say that breaking up is hard to do
Now I know, know that it’s true
Don’t say that this is the end
Instead of breaking up I wish that we were making up again
I beg of you, don’t say goodbye
Won’t you give our love another try
Come on baby, let’s start a new
‘Cause breaking up is hard to do

Leave a Reply

